top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePatrick Penner

Inktober


Inktober is upon us once again. It's that time of the year when we, as artists, practice and celebrate the use of ink.

So why do we celebrate Inktober? Inktober was created in 2009 by Jake Parker as a way for him to challenge himself with positive habits and to develop his inking skills. The challenge, 31 days, 31 drawings. Since 2009 thousands of artists world wide partake in this challenge and social media is graced with beautiful pictures in rainbows of ink.

Official word prompts are available to help you along with your own Inktober endeavors. The rules of Inktober are simple. Draw a picture in ink (underlying pencils are accepted) and post your picture to social media with "#inktober" and repeat every day.

Now drawing every day isn't always possible, despite that being the goal, so the community has adopted various survival tips. Such tips include working ahead, carry a small sketch book with you, 31 small pictures rather than larger ones, etc.

Posted here is the exact same prompt list that I am working from . My goal is to work from this list and make posting to my Instagram every day and weekly I will post here with a story for every picture and to why I chose that picture. My own variation to this list is since I'm a character artist every one will be a character that I have never drawn before, something new and to challenge myself into new characters. All will be known characters so everyone can have fun with it.

Join me in this Inktober, follow along, not just me but other artists as well. Enjoy the art and if you create, enjoy the process and most of all let's have fun. I'll see you tomorrow on my Instagram.

-Pat


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Burn Out

I want to cover the topic of burn out because it affects everyone at some point in their lives. Since we live in a social media world we have probably heard about this topic a lot from content creator

bottom of page